Two Arias From “Eurydice”

2021 / For soprano and chamber ensemble

Two Arias From “Eurydice” is an arrangement, for soprano and chamber ensemble, of two arias from my opera Eurydice. This arrangement creates a musical bridge between the aria “There was a roar,” at the top of the opera’s second act, and “Orpheus never liked words…This is what it is to love an artist,” the climactic aria near the end of that act.

This arrangement was commissioned by The Metropolitan Opera for the MET Orchestra’s concert at Carnegie Hall’s Weill Recital Hall on November 21, 2021. At the premiere, the soprano soloist was Liv Redpath, and Yannick Nézet-Séguin conducted.


For soprano and chamber ensemble
Category:Vocal chamber music
Year premiered:2021
Commissioned by:The Metropolitan Opera
Duration:9 mins.
InstrumentationSoprano and chamber ensemble: 1 fl. (doubling picc. and alto flute), 1 cl., 1 bass cl., 1 hp., 1 pno., 2 perc., and string quintet (2 vln., 1 vla., 1 vc., 1 bass)
Past Performances

Nov. 21, 2021Liv Redpath, soprano; The MET Orchestra Chamber Ensemble; Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor